mentorING

Promoting Female Talents

 

mentorING has existed since 2002, making it the oldest and one of the most successful mentoring programs at TUM. It supports female students with the orientation on the labor market as well as personal and professional development. The focus of the business-oriented program is the development of a reliable professional network as well as their personal and professional development of mentees. To that end, more than 60 renowned companies from the Munich region have already sent mentors. Workshops and trainings additionally offer the opportunity to discuss current professional issues. MentorING starts each winter semester.

 

The contact with the participating companies has helped me to gain a better overview of my possibilities for the start of my career” – Annika Laqua, class of 2016/17

Download:

Flyer_mentorING


The program is based on four pillars:

  1. One-on-one mentoring: mentors of partner companies advise and support the participating students in their life, study and career planning over a year. Every mentee is accompanied by a personal mentor who corresponds to her study-field and her professional goals.
  2. Professional qualification: all participants complete a diverse seminar and training program. Topics include life and career planning, leadership competences and work-life-balance. A special feature of the program is the application training in which human resource managers of partner companies practice interviews with the mentees and give practical tips for the application process and interviews.
  3. Networking: mentorING introduces the participants into a professional and study-relevant network. The contact to mentees is just as important and sustainable for career advancement as the contact to mentors from participating companies. The program actively supports and encourages network-building through joint events.
  4. Personal Development: Mentors’ advice helps the mentees to reflect personal strengths and opportunities. Therefore, professional and personal goals can be defined realistically.

TUM International GmbH, a 100% subsidiary of the Technical University Munich is acting as an interface for the mentorING program. The concept of mentorING was developed and is carried out in cooperation with Cross Consult GbR. The implementation of the program is currently supported by ESG Elektroniksystem- und Logistik GmbH, eSolve AG, General Electric Global Research, W.L. Gore & Associates, Intel, Knorr-Bremse and Stadtwerke München.

 

Contact Person:

Gesa Zimmermann
Phone: 089 20000 548-13
Email: mentorING@tum-international.com

mentorING

Promoting Female Talents

mentorING existiert seit 2002 und ist damit das älteste und eines der erfolgreichsten Mentoring-Programme der TUM. Es unterstützt Studentinnen bei der Orientierung auf dem Arbeitsmarkt sowie der persönlichen und professionellen Entwicklung. Im Fokus des wirtschaftsnahen Programms liegt der Aufbau eines tragfähigen professionellen Netzwerks. Dafür entsandten bereits über 60 renommierte Unternehmen aus dem Raum München Mentoren und Mentorinnen. Workshops und Trainings bieten zusätzlich die Möglichkeit, sich mit aktuellen beruflichen Themen auseinander zu setzen. mentorING startet jeweils zum Wintersemester.

 

„Der Kontakt zu den teilnehmenden Unternehmen hat mir geholfen einen besseren Überblick über meine Möglichkeiten zum Jobeinstieg zu erlangen.“ – Annika Laqua, Jg. 2016/17



Download:

Flyer_mentorING

Flyer_mentorING_Englisch


Das Programm steht auf vier Säulen:

  1. One-on-One-Mentoring: Mentorinnen und Mentoren aus Partnerunternehmen beraten und unterstützen die teilnehmenden Studentinnen im Verlauf eines Jahres bei ihrer Lebens-, Studien- und Karriereplanung. Jede Mentee bekommt eine persönliche Mentorin oder einen persönlichen Mentor zur Seite gestellt, die/der ihrer fachlichen Ausrichtung und ihren beruflichen Zielen entspricht. 
  2. Berufliche Qualifizierung: Alle Teilnehmerinnen durchlaufen ein vielfältiges Seminar- und Trainingsprogramm. Zu den Themen gehören Lebens- und Karriereplanung, Führungskompetenzen oder Work-Life-Balance. Eine Besonderheit ist das praxisnahe Bewerbungstraining unter Beteiligung von Personalvertreterinnen und -vertretern der mentorING Partnerunternehmen.
  3. Networking: mentorING führt die Teilnehmerinnen in ein berufs- und studienrelevantes Netzwerk ein. Ebenso wesentlich und nachhaltig karrierefördernd wie die Kontakte zu den Mentorinnen und Mentoren aus Unternehmen sind diejenigen der Mentees untereinander. Die Netzwerkbildung wird bei mentorING durch gemeinsame Veranstaltungen unterstützt und ermutigt.
  4. Persönliche Entwicklung: Das unterstützende Feedback der Mentoren und Mentorinnen hilft den Mentees, persönliche Stärken und Chancen zu reflektieren. So können berufliche und persönliche Ziele realistisch definiert werden.

mentorING wird von der 100%-igen TUM-Tochtergesellschaft TUM International GmbH betreut, die für die Technische Universität München die Aufgabe der Schnittstelle zu Unternehmen wahrnimmt. Das Konzept von mentorING wurde in Kooperation mit der Cross Consult GbR entwickelt und wird in Kooperation mit Cross Consult durchgeführt. Die Umsetzung des Programms erfolgt aktuell mit Unterstützung der ESG Elektroniksystem- und Logistik GmbH, der eSolve AG, von General Electric Global Research, W. L. Gore & Associates, Intel, der Knorr-Bremse AG und der Stadtwerke München.

Kontakt
Gesa Zimmermann
Tel: 089 20000 548-13
Email: mentorING@tum-international.com